Tags

,

I have been in the Young Women’s Presidency (I belong to the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints/ I know who I am/ I know God’s plan/ I’ll follow Him in Faith… pardon me, I digress into song occasionally) for a few months now and yet I haven’t fully completed a personal progress value experience. It has been a personal challenge, as well as a way to be a good example to the girls, to attempt to complete the program as a leader since I never did when I was a wee teenager. Many of the value experiences require writing in one’s journal and well, this blog really is my journal (full of randomness). So here goes!

strength-of-youth-480x270-09403_000_Thumbnail

Choice and Accountability #2

I have read “For the Strength of Youth” pamphlet, cover to cover, and now I shall list each standard outlined here and why they are important.

Agency and Accountability – we are free to choose how to live our life. However, we are not free to choose the consequences those choices have upon us and others. May we be responsible with this gift of life and make good choices.

Dating – Virtue loveth virtue; light cleaveth light.

Dress and Appearance – our body is a temple that we should respect by dressing and caring for it appropriately and modestly. As a mom, I should strive to get dressed each morning, rather than wandering the house in my pajamas.

Education – I love this section because I am a nerd. I love to learn! What we fill our minds with, will rise with us, so invest and fill it well.

Entertainment and Media – what we choose to watch, read, listen to, etc. has an effect on us. We must choose well so as to not drive away the spirit.

Family – strong families require effort. I need to be a righteous example to my children and be sensitive to others’ needs.

Friends – choose friends that have a good influence on you as well as be a good influence upon others. Do not compromise your standards to fit in, rather, stand out as you are a disciple of Christ.

Gratitude – we need to express gratitude for all the blessings we receive daily, big or small.

Honesty and Integrity – do what is right and live high standards, even when no one may be watching.

Language – clean and intelligent language is evidence of a bright and wholesome mind.

Music and Dancing – the spirit speaks with a still, small voice so choose music that is uplifting and enriching.

Physical and Emotional Health – as my body is a temple, I must care for it by practicing balance and moderation, avoiding extremes that can cause further harm. Seek healthy solutions to problems and safeguard both physical and emotional health.

Repentance – is a change of mind and heart, turning from sin towards God for forgiveness and seeking a desire to do better so that I may worthy to return to live with my family in heaven.

Sabbath Day Observance – prepare for the sabbath day throughout the week, show respect for the Lord by keeping the sabbath day holy. Be on time and attend all church meetings.

Service – “When ye are in the service of your fellow beings ye are only in the service of your God.”

Sexual Purity – intimacy is to be kept sacred between a husband and wife.

Tithes and Offerings – is showing gratitude for all that God has given me by returning a portion of what I have received.

Work and Self-Reliance – do not be idle, live within one’s means.

For the next three weeks, I am working on increasing my spiritual education daily, keeping the sabbath day holy by striving to be on time to church (a real challenge with three children and a half hour drive to church), and strengthening my family by continuing to strive to speak more words of affirmation to my children.

For more information: https://www.lds.org/young-women/personal-progress?cid=YS-M-personalprogress&lang=eng

