Tags

In going along with the apple science experiment (which is progressing quite nicely, btw), I happily found a personal progress value experience that coincides with the second part of our experiment, which is that the children and I spend 30 seconds each day saying positive things to each other. It’s a good way to end the experiment on a happy note every morning and a boost of confidence before Goober heads off to school for the day.

Individual Worth #3: “Read Doctrine and Covenants 18:10 and 121:45. Do all you can to build others and make them feel of worth. Every day for two weeks notice the worthwhile qualities and attributes of others. Acknowledge them verbally or in writing. In your journal write what you have learned about the worth of individuals and how your own confidence grows when you build others.”

In another week and some, I shall report back on what I have learned “about the worth of individuals and how [my] own confidence grows when [I] build others” and then I shall have completed my first value experience!

An update on the progress of Choice and Accountability #2:  Read the pamphlet For the Strength of Youth. List in your journal each standard of righteous behavior the pamphlet outlines, and record why it is important to choose to live those standards. Practice living righteous standards by choosing three standards in which you need to improve. You might choose to be more selective about television, music, books, or other media, or you might improve your modesty, language, or honesty. After three weeks share your progress with your family, your class, or a leader.

1) We were late for church but hey, we made it! Excuses, excuses but I needed to throw five ingredients for a side dish into the crockpot for a potluck to be held after church and then Stormageddon (codename for our newest addition to the family) didn’t want to wait any longer to nurse (half hour drive can be torture on little tummies).

2) Each night before bed, I have been reading one or two talks from General Conference on my tablet so as to help with increasing my spiritual knowledge.

3) The apple experiment has been helping to remind me to speak more kind words to my children so as to build a stronger relationship with my family. It’s also been helpful in getting us started on the right foot each morning.

